Publishing News | Research

Lucy Derges, Policy & Research Manager at STM shares the 2021 STM Report

The latest STM publication on the state of scientific and scholarly publishing globally is now available. The 2021 STM Report was compiled by Lucy Derges, MA Publishing distance learning student, who joined STM (The International Association of Scientific, Technical and Medical Publishers) as Policy & Research Manager at the beginning of 2021. Compiling this essential industry report was one of Derges' first tasks of her new job and highlights a key benefit of the OICP distance learning degree: the flexibility to study alongside full-time employment and the application of learning in practice.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 15 Nov 2021 around 2pm

Filed Under Research | Publishing

Podcasting article in The Bookseller

For an article in The Bookseller magazine on industry podcasts, Caroline Carpenter interviewed Angus Phillips from OICP and one of our alumni, Flavia Marcocci. 

The team at the Oxford International Centre for Publishing (OICP) started recording audio content from interesting visitors and industry speakers more than a decade ago. Angus Phillips, director of the OICP, says: 'We aim to keep current with the industry and the latest developments. The podcast is part of our research and also supports our teaching. There is no strict format; the content is varied across topics and industry sectors.' Guests are selected to offer insight into the industry and the latest trends.

A former OICP student, Flavia Marcocci, began researching and producing her own podcast as her major project for her MA in Digital Publishing in 2018. Marcocci, who is platform manager at AI search firm Yext and previously worked at Polity and DK, launched Publishing Insight because 'at the time, there weren’t many career podcasts focusing on the publishing industry and the roles that comprise a publishing house'.

You can read the full article here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 12 Nov 2021 around 2pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Monograph publishing - OICP report now published

The results are published of research carried out by the Oxford International Centre for Publishing into the publishing of monographs or research-based books. A survey of English language academic publishers in the UK, Europe and North America was undertaken in 2021. The objective was to gather data on the current landscape of academic monograph publishing in the arts, humanities, and social sciences and to identify trends. Respondents were asked about their monograph publishing activities, sales, distribution, and about the future direction of their programmes. The report offers independent analysis of publisher information that may be helpful in informing the debate among stakeholders as to the future of the publication of long-form research in the arts, humanities and social sciences. The results offer key insights into the growth in output of titles, the level of print sales, the move towards open access, usage of monographs, and their pricing.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 14 Oct 2021 around 1pm

Filed Under Research | Oxford Publishing & Digital Media | Postgraduate | Publishing | Oxford Centre for Publishing Consultancy and Research

Samantha Harman @PubOxford appears in Media Quotes of the Year 2020

Samantha Harman of OICP @Samantha_editor was quoted alongside fellow journalists Alan Rusbridger and Geordie Greig in InPublishing’s selection of the Media Quotes of the Year.

Writing about the online abuse of journalists, she said: ‘We’ve seen a toxic rhetoric emerge over the last couple of years that all journalists are “scum” and that it’s acceptable to hide behind the internet to say whatever you want to them. It reached a boiling point this year during coverage of the Black Lives Matter movement, with reporters having to deal with abhorrent, disgusting and racist comments on stories.’

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 22 Dec 2020 around 12pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Caroline Davis @PubOxford publishes new book

Dr Caroline Davis from OICP has published a new book with Cambridge University Press in their Elements series: African Literature and the CIA.

During the period of decolonization in Africa, the CIA subsidized a number of African authors, editors and publishers as part of its anti-communist covert propaganda strategy. Her new book unravels the hidden networks and associations underpinning African literary publishing in the 1960s; it investigates the success of the CIA in disrupting and infiltrating African literary magazines and publishing firms, and determines the extent to which new circuits of cultural and literary power emerged. Based on new archival evidence relating to the Transcription Centre, The Classic and The New African, it includes case studies of Wole Soyinka, Nat Nakasa and Bessie Head, which assess how their literary careers were influenced by these transnational literary institutions, and their response to these interventions.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 22 Dec 2020 around 12pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

New episode on audiobooks added to @PubOxford podcast

Richard Lennon, Publishing Director of Penguin Random House Audio @PRHAudio, is in conversation with Angus Phillips. Richard talks about trends in the UK audio market, some recent bestsellers, and the kind of projects that work well as audiobooks.

Other recent episodes cover children’s publishing, publishing in India, the motivations of book buyers, and magazine journalism.

You can find the podcast here

 

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 18 Dec 2020 around 9am

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Booker Winner interviewed by Sarah Franklin of @PubOxford

Douglas Stuart, author of Shuggie Bain which recently won the Booker Prize, featured in an Zoom event on Thursday 17 December 2020. He appeared in conversation with Sarah Franklin from OICP, author of the recently published How to Belong. This virtual event was part of a series organized by Blackwell’s.

@blackwellbooks

@SarahEFranklin

@Doug_D_Stuart

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 18 Dec 2020 around 9am

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Improve your skills and knowledge - @PubOxford courses

We are delighted to offer to industry professionals three MA Publishing modules, each of which can be taken as a standalone 12-week course from anywhere in the world. Study with us for continued professional development, or as a stepping-stone to the complete Master’s programme.

Modules Running: 24 January to 26 April 2021
• Sales and Marketing for Publishing
• International Management of Publishing and Rights
• Data-Driven Marketing and Publishing (this will be repeated over the summer semester 3 May - 1 August 2021)
Please email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) for more details on joining the Oxford International Centre for Publishing as an Associate Student.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 01 Dec 2020 around 5pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

NCTJ accreditation awarded for journalism programmes

We are delighted to announce that OICP's journalism programmes have been accredited by the NCTJ. This accreditation applies to the MA Journalism and the journalism pathway on the BA Media, Journalism and Publishing.  The award of accreditation recognizes quality training in journalism skills ready for a successful career in the industry.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 30 Nov 2020 around 12pm

Filed Under Research | Oxford Publishing & Digital Media | Postgraduate | Publishing

New books from OICP lecturers

This month sees publication of two new books, by Sarah Franklin and Craig Taylor. 

Sarah Franklin returns with How to Belong, a compelling tale of lost connection and finding a home, perfect for fans of Tessa Hadley and Maggie O'Farrell. 
Sarah grew up in rural Gloucestershire and has lived in Austria, Germany, the USA and Ireland. She lectures in publishing at OICP and has written for the GuardianIrish Times, Psychologies magazine and The Pool.

A unique dystopia, a remarkable psychological fantasy, an absurdist satire, Craig Taylor's City Of O is republished for the first time since 2005 in a totally new edition. Craig has been nominated for the British Science Fiction book of the year, edits fiction for a well-known publisher and is a lecturer at OICP. He is the author of the cult Kev King novels - described as ‘brilliant’ by the Sun and ‘horribly entertaining’ by the Mirror - which have been optioned for TV.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 23 Nov 2020 around 2pm

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Page 1 of 15 pages

 1 2 3 >  Last »