Publishing News | Events

Graduating students from OICP

May 2022 saw the return of in-person graduation ceremonies and on Tuesday 17 May we were delighted to welcome back students from the class for 2018 to 2019. The sun shone and it was wonderful to see so many familiar faces back on campus.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 23 May 2022 around 3pm

Filed Under Events | Oxford Publishing & Digital Media | Postgraduate

OICP at the London Book Fair

London Book Fair 2022

The London Book Fair took place from the 5th to the 7th April 2022 at Olympia. The Oxford International Centre for Publishing took a stand at the Fair in order to promote our degree programmes, industry and academic research, and training and consultancy work. It was great to meet lots of friends and alumni of OICP in person. Publishing students, both postgraduate and undergraduate, helped out with the running of the Fair across the three days.

We also have an MA scholarship sponsored by the London Book Fair.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 13 Apr 2022 around 4pm

Filed Under Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Xiaolu Guo at the Oxford Literary Festival

On 30 March 2022 the award-winning Chinese-British novelist and film-maker Xiaolu Guo was interviewed at the Oxford Literary Festival by Angus Phillips, Director of the Oxford International Centre for Publishing.

The event took place in the Weston Library Lecture Theatre at the Bodleian Library and was attended by 50 people. The interview provided insights into Xiaolu Guo’s life and works, as well as examining some of the key themes in her books, such as love, language and identity. 

A key part of the conversation focused on her latest novel A Lover’s Discourse (2020). A Chinese woman comes to post-Brexit London to start over: isolated and lonely in a Britain increasingly hostile to foreigners, she meets a landscape architect and the two begin to build their future together. The novel plays with language and the cultural differences that the narrator encounters as she settles into her new life, and the lovers must navigate their differences and their romance. The author read an extract from the book which considers the difference between authenticity and imitation through looking at a village in Shenzhen, where there is a cottage industry reproducing famous artworks for western consumers.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 13 Apr 2022 around 3pm

Filed Under Research | In Conversation with OICP | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Working in Publishing, Media and Journalism 2022

Tue 1 March 2022 at 1.00 pm

An annual event for both undergraduate and postgraduate students, Working in Publishing offers an afternoon of advice and networking with media professionals, including alumni from our extensive network throughout the industry. In 2022 the Oxford International Centre for Publishing is expanding the event to include not only over 50 representatives from across a range of publishing sectors, but also professionals from the worlds of media and journalism. They will participate in online sessions throughout the afternoon, giving students the opportunity to ask questions and gain insight to kickstart their careers.

This year's keynote is Jamie Hodder-Williams, former CEO of Hodder & Stoughton. Previous speakers include Hilary Murray Hill, David Shelley, Joanna Prior, Mark Allin, and Jamie Byng. Examples of the companies in attendance are Penguin Random House, Pearson, Faber & Faber, OUP, Elsevier, Felicity Bryan, Thames and Hudson, Usborne, Bloomsbury, Telegraph Media Group, Financial Times, DC Thomson, Gleam Futures, M&C Saatchi, and The Bookseller.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 21 Feb 2022 around 10am

Filed Under Journalism | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

2021 British Book Design and Production Awards

The British Book Design and Production Awards took place on Monday 8 November 2021 at the De Vere Grand Connaught Rooms in Central London.

The evening was hosted by guest presenter Penny Smith. She is well known for her passion for reading and is a television and radio presenter, a newsreader and a journalist, seen regularly on BBC news. She kept guests well entertained throughout the evening, presenting a total of 19 awards.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 12 Nov 2021 around 2pm

Filed Under Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

New episode on audiobooks added to @PubOxford podcast

Richard Lennon, Publishing Director of Penguin Random House Audio @PRHAudio, is in conversation with Angus Phillips. Richard talks about trends in the UK audio market, some recent bestsellers, and the kind of projects that work well as audiobooks.

Other recent episodes cover children’s publishing, publishing in India, the motivations of book buyers, and magazine journalism.

You can find the podcast here

 

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 18 Dec 2020 around 9am

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Booker Winner interviewed by Sarah Franklin of @PubOxford

Douglas Stuart, author of Shuggie Bain which recently won the Booker Prize, featured in an Zoom event on Thursday 17 December 2020. He appeared in conversation with Sarah Franklin from OICP, author of the recently published How to Belong. This virtual event was part of a series organized by Blackwell’s.

@blackwellbooks

@SarahEFranklin

@Doug_D_Stuart

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 18 Dec 2020 around 9am

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

New books from OICP lecturers

This month sees publication of two new books, by Sarah Franklin and Craig Taylor. 

Sarah Franklin returns with How to Belong, a compelling tale of lost connection and finding a home, perfect for fans of Tessa Hadley and Maggie O'Farrell. 
Sarah grew up in rural Gloucestershire and has lived in Austria, Germany, the USA and Ireland. She lectures in publishing at OICP and has written for the GuardianIrish Times, Psychologies magazine and The Pool.

A unique dystopia, a remarkable psychological fantasy, an absurdist satire, Craig Taylor's City Of O is republished for the first time since 2005 in a totally new edition. Craig has been nominated for the British Science Fiction book of the year, edits fiction for a well-known publisher and is a lecturer at OICP. He is the author of the cult Kev King novels - described as ‘brilliant’ by the Sun and ‘horribly entertaining’ by the Mirror - which have been optioned for TV.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 23 Nov 2020 around 2pm

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

OICP student takes part in BBC Children in Need

Media Journalism and Publishing student Rosie (aka Roisin) Clear has been selected to take part in the Rickshaw Challenge for BBC's Children in Need to raise money for charity.

The challenge which is now in its 10th year, takes place at Goodwood in West Sussex from Friday 6 November. The team will cover a variety of terrains to reach their target each day, in time for a live broadcast on The One Show each night at 7.00pm.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 30 Oct 2020 around 3pm

Filed Under Events | Publishing

News from OICP

Here is a picture of colleagues in a team meeting this week via Zoom. Our office closed on Tuesday morning (24 March 2020) and we are all working remotely. Although we have had to suspend our programme of events, we are actively working on the remaining classes for this year, which have moved online. We send our good wishes to our network of alumni and friends around the world, and do get in touch if you are interested in studying with us next year – whether on campus or through distance learning.

We send our solidarity and best wishes to everyone around the world in these difficult times.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 27 Mar 2020 around 10am

Filed Under Research | Events | Oxford Publishing & Digital Media | Postgraduate | Publishing | Book History

Page 1 of 6 pages

 1 2 3 >  Last »